My Beauty Diary: Cleansers

Now that I’ve started to notice wrinkles under my eyes, (my twenties are flying by!), it’s time to get serious about skin care, in particular; Cleansing. 
Long gone are the days when a make up wipe will suffice. A few years ago I stepped up my game and started using Eve Lom. The cleanser is the stuff of dreams and their facials are even dreamier. Essential Oil based, not only is it a deep cleanser, but it exfoliates the skin as well as brightens and tones. Some say Eve Lom hasn’t stepped up its game in years and only gives the illusion of softer skin from the oily residue but I beg to differ. I found my skin improved hugely and hasn’t been the same since I ran out. What’s stopping me from buying another I hear you ask? Simply put, the price. Starting at around €50 per 50ml,it isn’t exactly cheap. I found buying the 100ml better value for money as it lasted longer. 


During my hiatus from Eve Lom I’ve tried out MANY different cleansers. One of my favourites, Liz Earle. The Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish Hit Cloth Cleanser is rich and moisturising, not to mention the infusion of chamomile and eucalyptus makes it smell unbelievably fresh. Like the Eve Lom Cleanser, this too comes with a muslin cloth for wiping away the grime and getting deep down into the pores. 


Everyone has high praise for Micellar Water, I’m just not into the whole cotton pad cleansing. They must have read my mind at Garnier because now it comes as a Cleansing Gel Face Wash! This is what I’m using right now, although maybe I should have gotten the sensitive one, because it stings the sh*t out of my eyes!! My skin feels really clean after every use, but that’s about it. It doesn’t moisturise or exfoliate, I need to do this separately after cleansing. 


When I’m feeling like I need a super quick cleanse, sometimes I reach for an old classic. Boots Tea Tree & Witch Hazel Foaming Face Wash is cheap and cheerful. I’ve used this a very long time, probably since my teens. This Cleanser is rich in spot fighting anti-bacterial Tea Tree Oil perfect for break outs and is also full of Witch Hazel to calm the skin. I use it in the shower but not every time as I find it can leave my skin feeling tight. I find it helpful during those pesky breakout days, when I’ve over indulged and my skin feels oily. 


So there you have it, my top cleansers. Not a makeup wipe in sight! 

Eve Lom available in Harvey Nichols and Space NK, all other products available in Boots. 

Leave a Reply

