My Beauty Diary: Foundation 

One search that seems to be never ending for me is the hunt for the perfect foundation.
Stila

Stay All Day by Stila is my favourite foundation and has been for four years now. Full coverage, this foundation rarely budges. I love the dewy finish and Fair 2 is a great match to my skin tone. A little bit pricey at €39.50 a bottle, but it does come with the matching concealer in the lid and a mini foundation brush. My only problem is I fly through bottle after bottle, I love it so much I wear it every day! I decided it was probably better to keep it for special occasions. And so, my search for the perfect everyday foundation began.

Clinique

The Clinique Superbalanced Silk Foundation is an oil-free liquid foundation provides moisture where it’s needed and absorbs oil in all the right places. Build-able coverage that lasts all day. I thought this foundation would be a good one to try for everyday. I found it to be quite matte on the skin, great if that’s the look you like but I prefer a dewy finish.

Nars

I recently purchased the Nars Sheer Glow foundation, but I’m quite shocked to say exactly a month later I’m almost empty. You don’t see this foundation running out! Perhaps this is because Sheer Glow is water based and requires a few extra pumps to get to the level of coverage I prefer. Again, like the Clinique foundation, I found Nars not as Glow-y as I’d like. It goes on well and the colour match was perfect but not a foundation I would use for a night out because as I’ve said I like a lot more coverage. The pump makes life easier, I could certainly do without banging a bottle of foundation in the mornings but costs €4 extra.

While I was in London I picked up a bottle of Marc Jacobs RE(MARC)ABLEFoundation. I’d heard great things about it, my friend Gina of GinaKiely.com is a die-hard fan. The salesperson at the counter in Harrods told me all about the foundation. She said it’s best not to use a beauty blender as it comprises the texture of the foundation. Better to use a blending foundation brush, I was told. For the Marc Jacobs foundation to go on well, I found your skin MUST be hydrated. There’s no point putting it on if you’re having a bad skin day as it will look patchy and dry. I make sure to lash on heaps of Nivea Soft moisturiser to make sure my skin is quenched. I use my Blank Canvas to blend and it works very well with the Marc Jacobs foundation. Once again, this is a matte finish and a little goes a long way. I have a feeling I will have this foundation for a while. It’s not a foundation I go running to or wear everyday as I feel my skin needs to have extra tlc thrown in to make the foundation look good.

Alas, the search continues. I’ve a few recommendations to try out so watch this space.

Leave a Reply

